Snow Ride

13 12 2010

I love night time rides in fresh snow, while the rest of the city sleeps. The fluffy blanket of sparkly snow covers the streets and absorbs the city noises, and it’s so much easier to ride through before cars and sanders churn it into brown sugar.

Geneva says "Bring it!"

It’s been snowing on and off all weekend, and I’m, no doubt, in for a challenging Monday morning commute. Since I took this photo I’ve made a couple of modifications to the Porta Bike that I’m looking forward to testing out, hopefully earning it the new nickname, the Polar Porta Bike. Pics to come…


Actions

Information

4 responses

13 12 2010
PaddyAnne

It looks great!! Have fun!

17 12 2010
Corey

Did you manage to ride lots this week? It was a mess out there, especially Wednesday.

17 12 2010
evillerider

I rode every day, though I did take a few train rides with my bike. I should have photos up from this week’s adventures in the next day or two. It was a mess but I still spent much more time riding my bike than carrying it over snow drifts.

Howabout you? Did you brave the storm?

20 12 2010
Corey

I’m lucky enough that I have a really flexible employer, and that I can do my entire office job from my laptop at home, so I did that Wednesday and Thursday and opted out of the riding. I live out in Suburbia and even the sidewalks were a bad idea. Friday was a riot though, riding the narrow bootpacked paths on some of the sidewalks north of Whyte was bone rattling but lots of fun anyway. My front tire did veer off of the narrow path and into the deep snow more than once and I even tipped over into a snowbank, but it was a nice fluffy landing. Plowing through ridges of brown sugar at intersections is always great too.

Leave a comment