Yellow Sodium Lights

28 11 2012

I was a young child when all the street lights were switched from the bluish metal halide to the yellow-orange high pressure sodium bulbs, but I still remember the change that gave a literal sepia tinge to most of the subsequent nights of my life. Those ubiquitous yellow street lights have also coloured the many night time posts of this blog, and it feels ironic to finally find the beauty in something that I always thought was an urban blight.

I love my neighbourhood, especially the elms, not so much the ice.

A bike, snow bank, and a wintery street scape.

So many half remembered golden nights…

…forged in the sepia glow, like living nostalgia of the simple act of sitting on bench, by a snow bank, drinking tea.

Sodium lights are on their way out, and cheaper, whiter, more efficient LED’s are starting to replace them. It won’t be long ’til the golden glow of a long winter’s night is replaced by a new hue and nostalgia for the old. I wonder how it will change how we see and act in the night.

Actions

Information

3 responses

28 11 2012
Adrian Mike Pearce

Very Poetic!

15 12 2012
L

Beautiful words and photos. Thank you.

“….. and it feels ironic to finally find the beauty in something that I always thought was an urban blight.” <= Yes , yes ! ….for I have similar experience (s) … where things that were once 'blight' to me are now something of beauty (including the sodium lights that lined the streets where I lived).
l

28 12 2012
under the skies of arkansas

some neat looking light in those photos and i hope you get some shots of the new light someday in an entry

Leave a Reply

