So, Winter, Eh?

31 10 2012

Given the crazy weather in other parts of the continent right now, I’m going to refrain from the favourite Canadian pastime – complaining about the weather. But, yeah, it snowed, and it’s cold, and it could be a lot worse.

I put a studded tire on Porta-Bike in time for some late night riding in the fresh snow.

S’no problem.

Playing with my new front light.

A flic before crossing The Bridge.

Knowing that the weather in late October here can be a toss-up, back in early fall I committed to doing free bicycle tune ups, outdoors, as part of Sustainability Awareness Week on campus. That gamble sure didn’t pay off. I did have a tent & a heater, but I still couldn’t feel my toes after 4 hours. Not surprisingly, I wasn’t very busy, though I did fix about ten bikes (not including my own), gave a bunch of referrals and talked a lot of winter cycling.

Giving Porta-Bike a little TLC during one of the slower moments of Sub-Zero Bike Repair session.

I’ve been riding the foldie since it snowed because I found that the freezing temperatures have brought out some issues with the Globe (my other winter bike), and I’ll have to replace cables before I can ride it far. Not a big deal, I just need to find some time to dedicate to it. I also have another winter bike on the build, but I am waiting for rims to rebuild the wheels before I can launch it into the great Canadian winter. Stay tuned for more on that one later.

Actions

Information

3 responses

1 11 2012
L

Love your photos … esp. the 1st and the 4th.
O yes , we ( me and a few others) are always ‘tuned in’ here for yourwonderful account(s) on your biking exploit(s) … One ‘she’ here with me said that you’ve not only given her greater incentive to use her bike (now bikes) often but also made her the ‘handy bike maintenance woman ‘ for her ‘indolent’ (said lovingly though) boyfriend. LOL! 😀
Regards.
l

3 11 2012
BB

That first shot is beautiful.

1 07 2014
Raleigh Twenty winter bike-to-be | Loop-Frame Love

[…] addition to local winter R20 posts from Raving Bike Fiend, and Coreen’s posts about the Polar Porta Bike, Chicargobike’s R20 post now notes in comments that he’s fitted Marathon Winters and […]

Leave a Reply

