Transitions

28 10 2012

How much time does it take to make a change? It’s fall, and the daytime highs have fallen 30 degrees (centigrade) in thirty days. A month ago, I was frolicking in the woods and wading in the river on my last S24O camping trip of the season and taking midnight joyrides to the city limits on the ’46 CCM.

Ready to head back to civilization.

It was a frolicking barefoot in the woods kind of vibe.

Here’s to midnight joy rides on antique bikes.

Today, I’m trying to remember where I stashed my studded tires.

This is only the beginning…

A month ago, I was working at a factory, while today, between my two part time bikey jobs, I’m a full time bike professional. Ironically, this has meant less commuting and less cycling in general.

“Sometimes the best maps will not guide you, you can’t see what’s round the bend. Sometimes the road leads through dark places. Sometimes the darkness is your friend.”

A month ago I had a rigid regimen and knew where I’d be at any given moment of the week but now I’m exploring the fluidity and freedom of making my own schedule. A month ago I had doubts about my ability to take on this change, but today I’m using skills I wasn’t sure I had, and finding new uses for old talents.

And even though the change in seasons is completely predictable & expected, like the bicycle wheel turns, it’s still a shock to the system. Unlike life, where change can come suddenly and unexpectedly if you’re open to it.

It’s snowing again. I really need to find my studded tires.

Actions

Information

6 responses

28 10 2012
disapyr

Your pictures are beautiful! I’m a fan of the road one. I enjoy reading your blog. Ride safe!

28 10 2012
evillerider

Thanks 🙂
You take care as well – I hear it’s a lot snowier in your neck of the woods.

28 10 2012
pearce3220

The nature of the universe is change

28 10 2012
evillerider

So true. And easy to forget when you’re stagnating.

28 10 2012
adventurepdx

30C drop? Yeesh.
Here the rains have come,but not a super drop. Right now it’s 60F/16C. We’re getting lots of tropical moisture. But not as much tropical moisture as the East Coast…

29 10 2012
l

“…. but today I’m using skills I wasn’t sure I had, and finding new uses for old talents. ”
” …where change can come suddenly and unexpectedly if you’re open to it.”

Very, very well put! … my 2-thumbs up.
l

Leave a Reply

