Last Dance With Marjory

26 10 2011

In the week before I had the accident on Marjory, I had been riding her quite a bit, her fenders protecting me from the autumn rains and her upright riding position allowing me to enjoy all the fall color. And I’d taken a lot of pictures.

Time out by the tamaracks.

Rainy days don't get me down.

Wheee! Zooming down a hill!

Marjory, you were a damn fine bike.

I already miss this bike a lot. There is a silver lining, though. It appears that I’ll be able to fix her, I’ll just need to find a new (to her) fork and probably a front fender. So the hunt is on. This is a fairly common style & color of bike, and EBC actually scrapped a very similar frame days before my accident, so I know there’s potential for one showing up. If I find a similar frame in a different color, I may just transfer the wheels and other upgrades onto it. Either way, it’s a winter project now.

Some way, some how, Marjory will be reborn. Good bikes never die.

P.S. In case you’re wondering, I’m pretty much recovered from the crash, and am back to my usual level of crankiness (pun intended).

Actions

Information

4 responses

27 02 2012
DAN

Sorry to hear about your bike, I have one similar to yours. I have a fender that you can have. Looks the same.

28 02 2012
evillerider

Thanks for the offer, but I’m sure I’ll either be able to fix the existing fender or find a replacement at the local bike co-op. It’s such a common style of bike that I often see “Marjory’s twin sister” rolling about or parked around town.

28 02 2012
DAN

Okay. It is odd I have just the one fender I have been holding on to for a long time for no apparent reason.

10 04 2012
My Pants Are Falling Down and Other Spring Stories. « Breaking Chains and Taking Lanes

[…] my 1982 Canadian-made Raleigh Lenton, dubbed Marjory Stewart Baxter, last fall, and I was very sad. I’d been putting off fixing it all winter, mostly because of the logistics of getting a […]

Leave a Reply

