A Brief Public Service Announcement on Locking Your Bike

27 05 2011

Sometimes I’ll see a poorly locked bike, and I’ll want to leave a note for its rider about how to properly secure it, but I never do because I worry that said note will attract the attention of opportunistic thieves.

Today was a little different though, because the bike in question was an ECOS bike, one of the fleet of bikes I maintain for the the University’s bike library, and guess who recently organized all the spare keys? The bike was locked over the handlebars, with a brake cable being the only thing actually securing the lock to the bike. (I forgot to take a before picture. Sorry.)

So, thanks to a spare key, let me demonstrate how to properly lock your bike:

The U-lock goes through the frame, wheel and bike rack. If this bike had a quick release back wheel, it would also need to be secured with a cable or additional lock.

Locking your wheels as well as your frame may seem like overkill, but this is campus, next to an LRT station, and the entire area is littered with bike carcasses from riders who didn’t bother to lock the wheels they wanted to keep.

In retrospect, I should've included some introductory niceties.

So I wrote the cheeky note. It turns out it wasn’t necessary because the lady who rented the bike came for it as I was leaving. I introduced myself to her and explained what I had done and why. She seemed quite surprised by the whole encounter, and I’m worried I might have scared her, even though we were both smiling by the end. Hopefully I’ll see her again when she returns the bike and we can have a laugh about the whole episode.

Actions

Information

2 responses

27 05 2011
Timoohz

I think you did well. In some models you can get the cable open with no tools, and even if you can’t, they cables are so thin that one could cut them with a pocket knife.

But be careful, you have the keys and the temptation to do some pranks is terrible 😛

29 05 2011
evillerider

This is too awesome not to share:

Too bad it’s not the ’70’s anymore and we have to cart around U-locks everywhere.

Source: Going Going Bike
http://www.goinggoingbike.com/blog/

Leave a Reply

