Retroreflective Goodness

15 02 2011

Cyclists constantly hear complaints from drivers about how difficult we are to see (or more accurately, how easy it is not to see us). In response, some cyclists will feed an endless supply of batteries to a Xmas tree’s worth of blinkies while others repurpose dayglo highway worker vests into everyday riding garb. And that’s fine, it’s just not the way I roll.

My hoodie with a retroreflective owl in a tree and stars, plus a floral design on my calf. Being seen doesn't mean having to wear stripes. Photo by Chris Chan.

Geneva put a little bird on her hoodie.

The retroreflective silver returns the flash right back to the camera.

When I ride, I hope to encourage other folks to ride, too, and I think that presenting bicycle commuting as something you need an ugly uniform to do safely is contrary to that goal. “Cycling clothes” need not be discernible from street clothes, they’re just street clothes that happen to be suitable for cycling (which includes  everything but the trench coat).

Haydn put some subtle stripes on his parka.

Under headlights, though, not so subtle.

Still, some of the technology being developed for safety and athletic applications, such as retroreflective treatments are pretty cool, and I am very interested in applying it to apparel without it reading as safety wear.

As well as a pennyfarthing motif on his sleeve...

... Ian also created a turn signal effect on his gloves.

Perhaps I should begin with what retroreflective is, besides a cumbersome word that spell check won’t recognize. A retroreflective surface reflects light back to the source, no matter what angle the light hits the material. This is important for cyclists because at night it reflects the light from car headlights back to the driver, often allowing them to see a cyclist earlier than without a retroreflective sumtin sumtin. It’s no substitute for a good set of lights, but every little bit can help. In the photos throughout this post, the camera flash simulates the effect of headlights.

Orange is good color for daytime visibility.

With the addition of some retroreflective motifs, it's a good choice for night riding, too.

Over the last year or two, I’ve facilitated several workshops for folks to add retroreflective accents to their own clothes. The material we use is scrap from industrial production, the process is pretty simple, and the imagination is the only limit. All the pictures you see in this blog post taken in the red room (the upstairs lounge at EBC) are of folks who spent an evening with me brightening their wardrobes with this silver film.

Brendan's strategy for choosing his motif was one of my favorite.

"Eyes" like a moth to activate the "flight" response in the most primitive parts of the human brain.

This week I’m holding another workshop (Thursday, 7pm at EBC – register by emailing courses (at) edmontonbikes (dot) ca ) for anyone who’d like to increase their visibility without increasing their geekiness (unless you want to up the geek factor, and I’d be glad to help you if that’s your steez).

As well as using the retroreflective silver film for clothing, this workshop will have another exciting aspect (hey, I get excited by stuff like this). Inspired by a really cool tutorial on Giver’s Log, I’ve got my paws on some raw, traffic grade, tiny retroreflective glass spheres – think of it as high visibility glitter.

The retroreflective glass beads I added to this orchid for my bike look like a layer of sugar.

Outside, in the dark, this lovely orchid sends more light back to its source than the red rear reflector.

Having access to the raw material means we can now retroreflectivize a greater variety of stuff (specifically, anything that can be painted with acrylic craft paint) in almost any color.

These bracelets don't look like safety wear.

But in headlights no one will miss a turn signal when you're wearing safety bling.

I’ve barely begun exploring the possibilities of this stuff, and I’m really looking forward to seeing what the workshop participants will create on Thursday. If you’re in E-town this week, come check it out! The workshop will be fun, it’s cheap and there’s still space left for last minute registrants.

Actions

Information

11 responses

15 02 2011
adventure!

Tres cool!
I too don’t like the “must resemble a highway worker look that is encouraged for “safe” cycling, so it’s nice to see other ways of doing this.

Since I won’t be in Edmonton anytime soon, are you going to provide an online tutorial?

16 02 2011
evillerider

I’ll try to put up something. There are a lot of particulars with different materials and the material is hard to come by so, at least, the clothing portion won’t translate very well on the web, though.

17 02 2011
Val

Dang! This material needs to be EASY to get hold of. Someone in that industry should get a clue, and start offering varieties of treatments for all.

24 02 2011
evillerider

I looked into getting a roll of the stuff for the local bicycle co-op, but it’s prohibitively expensive (unless you’re an oil company), and the manufacturers still keep changing the specs of the material.

For now, I’ll continue collecting all the scraps of tar sands-related manufacturing and re-distributing them to cyclists.

26 02 2011
Deborah

OMG. So much love for all of this, but the retroreflective beads are freaking genius.

5 11 2011
hazler

Love this post and some of your thoughts on retro-reflectives. So I have linked to you on my own pst – Glowing in the dark 🙂

http://hazler.wordpress.com/2011/11/05/glowing-in-the-dark-bright-lights-for-bikes-on-dark-nights/

16 02 2012
Kitty Klitzke

I was inspired this and would like to host a similar event in my community in the US. next year. We have a great crafty cycling community but no one is doing what you are doing and I have no idea where to buy the raw materials, or what materials are best to use. (I haven’t found any local retailers who sell reflective fabric, yarn, or string and very few decal options etc.) What did you do? Do you know of any mail order sources?

Bike safety is a huge issue where I live. We have on average 20 serious collisions a month. We, like you, have dark winters.

Thanks for any advice and keep up the good work over there!

2 09 2012
Retroreflective Manicure « Breaking Chains and Taking Lanes

[…] so small they’re almost a powder). I used them to turn bracelets and silk flowers high-vis in Retroreflective Goodness and to make the magnets in Bike Art Galore. The technique is easy: pour the glass powder over wet […]

21 09 2012
Bike Craft link love: “let it shine” edition « Bicitoro

[…] a few demos (in Edmonton, which is unfortunate for those of us not in Edmonton) on how to apply nifty graphics out of retroreflective materials repurposed from industrial […]

22 09 2012
Brandon

I want to know how to do this

13 01 2014
Cedarhill Consulting & eco Vancouver Island

I don’t bike but I walk – on Vancouver Island. After several ‘close calls’ walking I’ve been searching for reflective clothing items/add-ons. I’d love to know if anyone is doing anything here in the part of BC! Also just found that Red Heart Yarns now have a line of REFLECTIVE YARN – I’m trying to find out if there is a Canadian retailer yet!

Leave a Reply

