Things I’ll Miss about Winter Cycling

4 03 2010

Even though this winter in Edmonton started late and seems to be letting up early (though mark my words, winter isn’t done with us yet), everybody I talk to has had enough of the old man. And while I’m also fed up with wearing 6 layers of clothes every time I walk out the door, I’d rather skip the messy streets that freeze anew every night, the melting snow that reveals an entire season worth of garbage and dog shit and the mass exodus of domesticated humans loitering confusedly as they become re-accustomed to sun, exercise and fresh air.

So, here’s some stuff I’ll miss about winter:

  • The sound of packed snow creaking under studded tires.
  • Riding across the High Level Bridge at full speed with hardly anyone in the way.
  • People thinking I’m hardcore and bad ass just because I ride.
  • Not getting stuck behind slow cyclists (because in winter, everybody who’s riding is in a hurry to get out of the cold and everybody’s in great shape from powering through the snow).
  • Extreme bicycle parking.

Extreme bicycle parking.

  • Not having to dodge the “Soldiers of Fitness” on the bike paths.
  • Less dogs in the parks and the bike paths, and the ones that are there tend to be better tempered because they have more responsible owners who don’t just exercise them when the weather’s good.
  • Days that are too cold for puddles or slush.
  • Drivers all have their windows up so I can’t hear their crappy music or listen to them swear at me.
  • No road rash thanks to layers upon layers of clothes acting as padding and soft snow to cushion falls.
  • Puddle photography (thanks to Dottie at Let’s Go Ride a Bike for inspiration on this one).

Reflecting on a change of season...

Now, it’s time to dust off my lovely cruiser, which has been sitting idle all winter, to take her for a spin.

Actions

Information

6 responses

24 03 2010
Sox

I love Dottie’s puddle pictures too.
You have a great attitude about winter!

17 08 2010
Val

“Soldiers of Fitness” -HA! I usually hear them called “Pathletes”, which works too.

18 08 2010
evillerider

Pathletes – hehehe. But there is no slur here, this is what they call themselves:
http://soldiersoffitness.com/dev/home.php?location_id=3

18 08 2010
Val

Good lord! That’s just…horrifying…and revolting…but all too believable. They ride bikes, you say? I now feel truly blessed for never having encountered them. I think I may adapt their name as a generic term, though.

19 08 2010
evillerider

They don’t ride bikes, but they do use the bike paths to march and carry that log thing they have and run in formation while a “drill sergeant” shouts at them. I’ve actually noticed them less this summer, hopefully this whole fitness boot camp thing is a short lived fad. How badly do you have to feel about yourself and about exercising to feel compelled to pay someone to scream at you while you do it? I just don’t get it.

19 08 2010
Val

No…no…there must be a law somewhere about running around in public in large groups with a log on your shoulders; otherwise, everyone would be doing it, right? It’s just wrong, that’s all there is to it. “Cameraderie” – yeah, right!

Leave a Reply

