Waiting for the Chinook

8 01 2010

For the first time in a month, I could feel it today – a little less burn on the cheeks, no weather induced squishee headache. The cold snap is about to break. It’s like the last breath of a tyrant before he finally relaxes the iron fist. I could breathe deeper & relax a little in this morning’s air. Tonight, as the sun set, I saw the chinook arch, a sight every long-term albertan welcomes. It’s going to warm up.

As much as I’m looking forward to warmer rides, I’m not looking forward to slush, brown sugar and my bike turning the same color as the salt/sand mixture that covers the streets. At least when it’s brutally cold, everything is frozen solid, so me and my bike stay relatively clean. Ahh, it’s so easy to complain about prairie weather, no matter what it is. I get best results when I just ride.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

