Critical Lass – Northside!

5 08 2011

This is the blog post where I nearly fail at Critical Lass. The weather was hot and sunny after days of rain, the rides are now regularly scheduled on the fourth Sunday of the month, and this month our starting point was the Taste of Edmonton Festival, where dozens of local eateries offer up samplings of their fare outside, in Churchill Square.

Feeling late, I was really booking it on Poplar as I crossed The Bridge, so much so that I nearly blew right by Deb and Angel from Loop Frame Love. They were taking it pretty easy, and another lass caught up with us as we headed towards the square. I still wanted to stop at the bank as well as pick up a cold beverage before the ride, so I left the group so I could bike fast, “ride” the errands, and meet up in time to rendezvous with everyone.

Except it didn’t happen. I arrived to a Churchill Square filled with thousands of people, but I couldn’t find the Critical Lasses.

Look! I'm not that hard to miss! I'm tall and wearing a sparkly hat!

I pushed my bike through that crowd for more than an hour, munching on some Padmanadi and taking a break to splash in the City Hall fountain along the way. Even in such a large crowd, how difficult could it be to find a bunch of well-dressed ladies with vintage bikes and foldies? Were they enjoying a Taste of Edmonton? Had they already left? Did the volunteer anti-bike gestapo get them? (I once was tackled, that’s right – tackled, for riding my bike through an empty festival site on a rainy day, and on this day was told several times by festival volunteers that I couldn’t ride my bike anywhere near the square, even though I wasn’t riding it.)

Growing tired of the suffocating sea of domesticated humans, I rode to a little place I know where there’s always room to breathe.

Blue skies self-portrait.

I knew which restaurant we were scheduled to eat dinner at, so I chilled in the park for a while before setting off to 118th Ave for one last attempt to join the ride.

Back on Poplar, in search of more lasses. BTW, I made that skirt the night before and hemmed it right before leaving the house for the ride.

I was overheated and wondering if I should have just taken a nice shady ride through Mill Creek Ravine instead when I spotted the bike pile in front of Habesha on 118th. Everyone had just ordered when I walked in, so I was able to eat with everyone else, and for a hungry vegan, Ethiopian food is good, good eating.

The Lasses! Hooray!

After dinner and good conversation, we got back on the bikes to head  downtown, stopping by the legislature grounds for a photo shoot and a little splashy splashy in the fountains.

Sweet bikes and good comapny in the shady rose garden.

The fountains at the leg (pronounced “ledge”) grounds are one of those rare singular things that vastly improves the livability of central E-Ville. So many days, on my way to or from ye olde sweatshop, I stop to dabble my feet in the cooling waters (FTR city hall is colder) and find momentary relief from the summer heat. The fountains, it is claimed, were never designed for wading and swimming, and were built with materials that don’t react well with chlorine (which they started adding to the water after finally giving up on constantly trying to chase people out of them). So now they are now scheduled to be replaced next year, so it was nice to get a little extra splashy time at the end of the ride. (And, um, I was too busy getting my splash on to take a picture).

View from a rose garden.

All in all, it was another lovely day out. For the whole story of the ride that day, check out Deb’s post on Loop Frame Love. See you at the next Critical Lass Ride!


Actions

Information

5 responses

5 08 2011
Deborah Merriam (@ecoDomestica)

It was so good to see you! We were all pretty worried when we couldn’t find you at Churchill Square, where we’d parked ourselves for an extra half hour in front of the doors of the Winspear to avoid hassles from the overzealous volunteers (who had told every. single. one. of us to not ride the bikes we were walking PAST the site, not inside the Square, too…). We’ll never make out starting point a festival again, it’s too hard to find people!

I checked the other day, and enough progress has been made on the on-street bike lanes on the Saddleback Road loop that we’ll meet at the Century Park LRT station and ride those for our family-friendly August Critical Lass ride.

5 08 2011
Ashley

Nice Skirt!! I had no idea the leg pools weren’t designed for swimming!

6 08 2011
evillerider

Thanks!

I remember, as a teenager, that it was really bad ass to go wading because you would barely have a chance to get wet before a security guard yelled at you, and there were signs all over the fountains that warned that the water was dangerous (i.e. untreated).

11 08 2011
Judy Penner (@bikesnrice)

Mmm, Ethiopian food! I’ve gotta try it ;D
You made that skirt you’re wearing? Awesome….I’ve always wanted to learn to sew, but perhaps i’ll settle for knitting!

23 03 2013
Critical Lass 6: North To Alberta Avenue | Loop-Frame Love

[...] But first we went into the rose garden for a group photo (which will be in Coreen’s post) and admired a bumblebee who was playing in the blossoms. There are more photos from the rose garden in Coreen’s ride report! [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

